Cr Houlihan elected Mayor

Posted on 8 Nov 2012

Please note: this is an old article

It was published in November 2012, so the information may be out-of-date.

Councillor Jenny Houlihan was today elected Mayor of Greater Shepparton for the next 12 months.

Cr Les Oroszvary was elected Deputy Mayor.

The Deputy Mayor will act as the chair in the absence of the Mayor at Council meetings or when the Mayor is required to vacate the chair and will act as the Council spokesperson and attend functions when the Mayor is unavailable.

At today's Council meeting, Councillors also decided to reschedule the time of Ordinary Council Meetings from 1pm to 5.30pm on the third Tuesday of the month to allow more members of the community the opportunity to attend meetings. One Ordinary Council Meeting each year will also be held in Mooroopna and Tatura.

The next Ordinary Council Meeting will be held at 5.30pm on Tuesday 20 November.

For more information, visit

- Released 9 November 2012